Donate Now

All gifts, large or small, will make a difference in our hospital.

 Charitable #:  882094584RR0001

Stay Connected

Follow sthfoundation on Twitter facebook

Star Supporter

Star Supporter Award


Ruby Trudel, Dawna Marriot, Melinda Harris, Wendy Anderson, Cheryl Robinson-Houweling, Cecile Beemer, Rebecca Alty
Patty Olexin-Lang, Mickey Brown, Louise Dundas-Matthews

The Stanton Territorial Hospital Foundation's success has relied heavily on the tremendous energy, commitment and time given by its volunteers. Without their generous support, the Foundation would not be able to achieve its ambitious goals.

The 2011 Star Supporters are the past and present CIBC Run for Our Lives committee members: Barb Hall, Cecile Beemer, Cheryl Dies, Cheryl Robinson-Houweling, Dawna Marriot, Donna Nash, Heather Chang, Jane Wiesehaup, Kathy McCormick, Kathy Fibish-Mercure, Linda Bussey, Louise Matthews, Melinda Harris, Mickey Brown, Patty Olexin-Lang, Rebecca Alty, Ruby Trudel, Terry Chang, and Wendy Anderson.

Since 2005, the CIBC Run for Our Lives committee has worked tirelessly to raise money to support breast cancer programs, services and equipment needed in the NWT. In 2010, the Run reached a momentous goal of purchasing the digital mammography machine and cumulatively raised over $1,000,000 since it began.

The CIBC Run for Our Lives replaced the CIBC Run for the Cure in the NWT, so that it would be possible for northerners to control how funds raised by the people of the Northwest Territories would be invested in support of breast cancer and breast health programs and services. Since 2005, the funds raised have been distributed as follows:

  • Stanton Territorial Hospital: to reactivate and expand the Patient Navigator position and to purchase a digital mammography machine;
  • NWT Breast Health/Breast Cancer Action Group: to carry on developing breast cancer projects and services within the NWT and to foster awareness of breast health and prevention of breast cancer at the community level; and
  • The Avon Flame Foundation: for national breast cancer research.

The Foundation exists and continues to thrive because of the support and generosity of people like the recipients of the Star Supporter Award. All of us prosper when we have people in our community who reach out and make a difference. Together, we are working for a healthy north.


Past Star Supporters

2008- Greg Merrithew

2007 - Chris Seggewiss & Margaret Pawluk

2006- Donna Latremouille

2005 - Mickey Brown

2004 - Prem Manickum

2003 - Yellowknife Fire Fighters

2002 - Kerry Beauchamp